New OS

Sort of off topic from anything I’ve written here, but, hey, I think it was kind of fun. I spent yesterday afternoon installing the openSuSE 11.1 Linux distribution on a new system I bought recently. So, I can now give a brief review so far.

Seems like a pretty stable distro so far. The installation went very smoothly. I had to spend a little time mucking about with the partitioning, since the interface is significantly different than what I’m used to with SuSE (10.2 and going back earlier). But I managed to create the / mount, swap, and stick everything else into logical volumes (/home, /usr, /opt, /{and so on}) for ease of expansion later. Once that was done, everything went as smooth as liquid helium. The sound card (82801G ICH7 family high definition audio controller) worked perfectly. My last sound card worked as well, but I do remember the days when sound cards on Linux was kind of hit and miss.

One of my pet peeves in software design is poor user interface design. There were a few glitches in this area. I opted to use a static IP address (for some future DNS set up, and didn’t want to fool around with callbacks, being kind of lazy) instead of a DHCP (obtaining a dynamic IP). In spite of a perfectly valid IP I entered, it kept complaining that it was invalid. Turns out I had an extra space before the address. How difficult could it be to trim out extra spaces? This is what we do in our code all the time. The most tedious part was getting online updates near the end of the installation. We have a cable network connection to “the cloud” and this just took forever. Which is o.k., I’ve got things to read while this is going on. But, when one connection fails it would throw up a dialog asking to retry, ignore, or skip. I’d usually hit retry and everything would be fine. It would also give a little beep when pressing the “Retry” button. In fact, it would have been more useful to have the beep when throwing up the dialog. I don’t need audio confirmation that I pressed a button; I have visual confirmation of that. The updates take so long that I need an audio cue that the dialog came up. There were many instances where I’d look up from my reading and chance to see the dialog.

It is still painful to grab all software to install (all the optional packages and such). In the old days, after selecting all, you wouldn’t actually get everything but would still need to go and select individual packages. I didn’t actually see a select all option this time, but had to go in from the beginning and select everything individually. I do tend to want to get everything out there, all kernel source, all development tools, etc., etc., so I’m not sure how much of an issue this would be for the average user. But I will say that compared to previous releases, there was much less in the way of having to slog through dependency hell this time. They seem to have fixed this up pretty nicely.

With KDE 4.1, the task bar disappeared when moving to multiple desktops. After researching this for a while and finding no clear answer applicable to what I was doing, I found rebooting fixed the problem. Probably restarting the windows manager would have been sufficient, but oh well. KDE 4.1 does seem pretty sexy (yes, I opted for KDE instead of gnome, although I went ahead and installed all the gnome software). Infinitely configurable as well, there’s a whole lot to play with here.

But all in all, those complaints are pretty minor compared to the big changes that seems to have gone into this distro. The NIC (network card) drivers worked great. On the old SuSE 10.2, my NIC card would not work unless I have a noapic parameter to the kernel on boot. Took a lot of headaches to figure that out. With 11.1, the network connection came right up with no headaches at all. It came with a lot of cool apps and server additions. I’ll have to spend more time playing around with it to see everything they got, but so far, responsive and solid. If you want to try a Linux distribution, you wouldn’t make a bad choice to go with this one.

After backing things up and moving things around, I’ll replace the old SuSE 10.2 with Ubuntu to play with and see how that goes. I keep hearing good things about Ubuntu and guess I should see what the fuss is about.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

